About the Commission
Members of the Commission
Press releases
Publications and Presentations
Contact us
GFC final report
Members of the Commission

The Commission is independent of government. Its members, who serve in a personal capacity, are drawn from a representative range of social, economic and political stakeholders. The role of Commissioners, as indicated in the Commission’s Terms of Reference, is to review, develop and approve the release of outputs of the Commission, bringing their particular expertise to bear on the Commission’s work.

The Members of the Commission listed below served between May 2007 and May 2010 (the Chairman and Director continue to serve). The affiliations and positions given are those prior to 6th May 2010 and are given here for archive purposes.

The current work on Environmental Tax Reform is being carried out by the Policy Studies Institute and Green Alliance. Click here for more information about the current project team.

Chairman: Robert Napier CBE (Chairman of the Homes and Communities Agency, and, chairman of the Board of the Met Office)
Director: Professor Paul Ekins (Professor of Energy and Environment Policy at University College London, formerly Head of the Environment Group, PSI)

Nick MabeyChief Executive, E3G
Peter MaddenChief Executive, Forum for the Future
Duncan McLarenDirector, Friends of the Earth Scotland
Bernie BulkinChairman, AEA Technology (also Sustainable Development Commissioner)
Rita CliftonChairman, Interbrand (former Sustainable Development Commissioner)
Andrew DuffGroup Chief Executive Officer, RWE npower (and Ofgem Environmental Advisory Group)
Michelle HarrisonManaging Director for Government and Public Affairs, BMRB
Professor Nick HanleyUniversity of Stirling
Neil BentleyDirector, Business Environment, CBI
Professor Tim JacksonUniversity of Surrey (also Sustainable Development Commissioner)
Professor Stephen PotterOpen University
Professor Andrew SentanceUniversity of Warwick, member of Bank of England Monetary Policy Committee and former chief economist, British Airways
Professor Kerry TurnerUniversity of East Anglia (also Director, CSERGE)
Lord Chris SmithChairman, Environment Agency
Elliot Morley MP (Lab)Labour MP for Scunthorpe County Constituency, and President of GLOBE International
Greg Barker MP (Con)Shadow Environment Minister
Colin Challen MP (Lab)Environmental Audit Committee, All Party Parliamentary Climate Change Group
Chris Huhne MP (Lib Dem)Shadow Secretary of State for the Home Department and formerly Shadow Environment Secretary
Lord Ron OxburghEx-Chairman, House of Lords Science and Technology Committee, ex-Chairman, Shell Transport and Trading UK
Lord Adair TurnerChair of the Committee on Climate Change, Chair of the Financial Services Authority, former Chairman, Pensions Commission, former Director-General, CBI
Tony GraylingHead of Environmental Policy, Environment Agency and formerly Specialist Environmental Adviser, Defra